New people in cabinet, others shuffled

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Premier Kathy Dunderdale made big changes to her cabinet Wednesday morning trying to revitalize her government halfway through the mandate.

The biggest move was government stalwart Tom Marshall going back to the Department of Finance, a position he's held in the past.

Joan Shea went to minister of Environment; Kevin O'Brien went to Advanced Education and Skills; Charlene Johnson was moved to Innovation, Business and Rural Development; and Derrick Dalley became minister of Natural Resources.

Keith Hutchings became minister of Fisheries; Paul Davis took over Child, Youth and Family Services; Nick McGrath became minister of Transportation; Steve Kent became Municipal Affairs minister; and Dan Crummell became minister of Service NL.

It was Jerome Kennedy's resignation as finance minister and the promise to eliminate one cabinet position got the ball rolling, but Dunderdale made more changes than that.

In total, 10 cabinet ministers are taking on new posts and Dan Crummell and Steve Kent joined the government's inner circle.

Felix Collins and Tom Hedderson are no longer in cabinet.

All of this comes against the backdrop of Dunderdale's personal approval rating at an all time low, and the PC Party third place in the polls, well behind both the Liberals and the NDP.

The swearing-in ceremony for cabinet ministers is taking place in the Drawing Room at Government House in St. John’s.

Organizations: Government House

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Ozzy Tomburn
    October 09, 2013 - 09:15

    Kent is in. Hallow'een is early this year.