Advisory committee includes appointees from the west coast

TC Media
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Thomas Philpott of Corner Brook and Barbara Genge of Main Brook have been appointed to the provincial government’s Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Advisory Council.

They are among 11 people from the province to be appointed to the board by Environment and Conservation Minister Joan Shea.

“These members will bring expertise and regional representation to the advisory council and make a valuable contribution in our efforts to ensure the preservation of our wilderness and ecological reserves and the protection of natural areas in our province,” said Shea in a press release issued Tuesday.

The council is mandated by the Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act for the purpose of advising the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, through the minister of Environment and Conservation, on matters relating to the establishment, management and termination of wilderness and ecological reserves.

Philpott holds a masters degree in natural resources management from the University of Manitoba and bachelors degrees in biology, psychology and education from Memorial University.

He worked as an educator in western Newfoundland for over 30 years as a school teacher and curriculum developer for the District 3 school board as well as the private college system. Most recently, he has been a lecturer at Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland.

His areas of work in the natural resources has ranged from algae and fish behaviour studies, benthic biodiversity, and mercury sediments, to waste management, composting, wind power and forestry issues.

Genge lives in Main Brook and is the CEO of Main Brook Waterworks and president of Tuckamore Lodge Ltd., which specializes in hunting, fishing, and adventure tourism.

She was one of the founders of the Northern Travels Tourism Association (predecessor of the Viking Trail Tourism Association) and been actively engaged in numerous community, tourism and sustainable development focused councils, including the Main Brook Town Council, Hospitality NL, and the Western Newfoundland Model Forest.

The term of the appointments is for three years.

The committee

Wildernesss and Ecological Reserves Advisory Council Committee:  

-Bill Montevecchi — Portugal Cove

-Luise Hermanutz — Portugal Cove

-Graham Wood — Grand Bank

-Keith Frampton — St. John’s

-Victor French — Bay Roberts

-Barbara Genge — Main Brook

-Joseph Goudie — Mud Lake

-Victoria Neville — St. John’s

-Thomas Philpott — Corner Brook

-Yolanda Wiersma — St. John’s

-Len Zedel — St. John’s

Organizations: Ecological Reserves Advisory Council.They, Tuesday.The council, University of Manitoba District 3 school board Memorial University of Newfoundland.His Tuckamore Lodge Northern Travels Tourism Association Viking Trail Tourism Association Main Brook Town Council

Geographic location: Corner Brook, Main Brook, Newfoundland Grand Bank Bay Roberts Mud Lake

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page