No provincial baseball silverware for western boys of summer

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

CORNER BROOK — Baseball associations in western Newfoundland were left out of the winner’s circle at the annual general meeting in Gander.

However, a former Corner Brook resident was among those recognized for their stellar performance on the diamond over the past season.

At an awards banquet held Saturday night, Baseball Newfoundland and Labrador handed out a number of awards to recognize the accomplishments of the 2010 baseball season in the province.

Mike O’’Neil of St. John’s, a former Corner Brook resident, got the nod as Molson Senior/Junior Division Player of the Year, while Tyler Hennessey of Conception Bay South was chosen Pepsi Minor Division Male Player of the Year.

Jaclyn Morgan of St. John’s was the recipient of the Stephanie Bavis Memorial Award for the Pepsi Minor Division Female Player of the Year, while Sean Gulliver of St. John’s got the nod as Pepsi Minor Division Coach of the Year and Mark Healy of St. John’s won the Molson Senior/Junior Division Coach of the Year.

Wayne Comeau of St. John’s was chosen Molson Senior/Junior Division Umpire of the Year, while Ryan Garland of St. John’s was selected Pepsi Minor Division Umpire of the Year.

The St. John’s Minor Baseball Association and the Grand Falls-Windsor Minor Baseball Association were co-winners of the Gordon Williams Memorial Award for the local association of the year.

The Les Noseworthy Memorial Award for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of baseball in the province was handed out to Dale Green of Grand Falls-Windsor.

Also, on the agenda over the weekend was an election of officers and there were no changes to the group responsible for the direction of the provincial baseball body. John Janes of St. John’s was re-elected to his second year as president. Janes has held several positions with Baseball Newfoundland and Labrador since 2001.

The remaining executive back in office includes vice-president Kevin Legge of Conception Bay South, treasurer Scott Adams of Upper Island Cove, Eastern Director Scott Mercer of Upper Island Cove, Central Director David Janes of Grand Falls-Windsor, Western Director Allan (Tex) Seaborn, minor chairman Steve Phillips of St. Johns and assistant minor chairman Kevin McCarthy of Corner Brook.

Organizations: Pepsi Minor Division, Baseball Newfoundland and Labrador, Grand Falls-Windsor Minor Baseball Association

Geographic location: CORNER BROOK, Newfoundland, Upper Island Cove Grand Falls

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page



Recent comments

  • Fan
    October 19, 2010 - 10:11

    How was the Grand Falls Minor Program recognized before the Corner Brook Association? there is no way their minor program competed with ours.

    • sjspat
      October 20, 2010 - 05:55

      You really wonder some times. I wonder how they use criteria for this. Same for umpires. Wonder why I don't hear of a west coast umpire receiving any awards.