Western teams get in on medal haul at provincial Under-12 female mega hockey tourney

Dave Kearsey dkearsey@thewesternstar.com
Published on April 7, 2014

CORNER BROOK  Sandi Whalen notched a hat trick to lead Port aux Basques to a 5-4 win over the Straits in the Division C gold-medal game at the provincial Under-12 female mega hockey tournament Sunday at the Kinsmen Arena II.

Karley Genge had a two-goal game for the gateway town representatives as five mega titles were declared in Corner Brook Sunday with 19 teams in the mix for the crowns.

Leah Dottin had a two-goal game for the Straits Minor Hockey Association representatives, while Allie Howard and Sohia Munden had single markers in a losing cause.

Meanwhile, the Cee Bees eked out a 2-0 victory over St. John’s to claim gold in Division D with Kaitlyn Pike scoring both goals for the victors.

Abby Reid and Summer Sargent had two goals apiece and Shannon Ryan had the other goal as Bay Arena registered a 5-4 win over Conception Bay Regional in the gold-medal final in A Division.

Grace Smith scored twice for the CBR squad, while Sydney Walsh and Rachell Abbott added single tallies to the scoresheet.

Emily Oram notched all three goals for Botwood in a 3-1 win over Clarenville 2 in the battle for gold in E Divison Sunday in Corner Brook, while Deer Lake won gold in Division B with a 1-0 victory over Stephenville.

The host Royals won bronze in Division D with its first win of the season — a 3-2 decision over Churchill Falls — pushing them to third spot.

Grace Hatcher scored all three goals for the host team.

Kim Jacobs had both goals for Churchill Falls.

Other weekend scores:

Bay Arena 3, CBR 3

BA: Hannah Hickey, Abby Reid, Sydney Reid

CBR: Grace Smith(3)

Grand Falls-Windsor 2, Stephenville 0

GFW: Heidi Beson, Lexie Small

Straits 6, Port aux Basques 1

S: Sandi Whalen (4), Kailey Genge (2)

P: Chelsea Anderson

St. John’s 2, Churchill Falls 0

SJ: Kiara Flynn, Sophia Eastmen

Corner Brook 3, Churchill Falls 2

CB: Grace Hatcher (3)

CF: Kim Jacobs (2)

Botwood 5, Springdale 2

B: Emly Oram (3), Brooklyn Gill (2)

S: Lily Anne Jacobs (2)

Clarenville 2 4, Botwood 2

C2: Paige Fleming (2), Kayla Marshall, Sarah Squibb

B: Emily Oram (2)

Marystown 2, Bay Arena 1

M: Abby Reid (2)

BA: Kathy Senior

Stephenville 5, Gander 1

S: Gia Caul (2), Katie White, Hannah Gilliam, Abbi House

G: Taylor Blackwood

Port aux Basques 2, Mount Pearl 2

PAB: Sophia Munden, Leah Dottin

MP: Ella Hogan (2)

Clarenville 2 1, Springdale 1

C2: Laura Leats

S: Lily Anne Jacobs

Clarenville 1 1, Marystown 1

C1: Emily Philpott

M: Abby Slaney

Mount Pearl 1, St. Anthony 1

MP: Ashley Sheppard

SA: Rikita Twyne

Cee Bees 1, St. John’s 0

CB: Sammie Joe Haire

Deer Lake 8, Grand Falls-Windsor 0

DL: Sarah Gillard (5), Tamara Gillard, Emma Joan Major, Robin Major

CeeBees 7, Corner Brook 1

Kaitlyn Pike (4), Jillian Newhook, Haley Bishop, Sami Joe Haire

CB: Grace Hatcher

CBR 6, Clarenville 1 3

CBR: Grace Smith (5), Rachell Abbott

C1: Desiree Snook, Heath Prosper, Amber Nicholls

Deer Lake 4, Gander 0

DL: Sarah Gillard 3, Emma Joan Major

Straits 8, St. Anthony 1

S: Sundi Whalen (3), Leonne Williams (2), Chloe Way, Hailey Gibbon, Kailey Genge

STA: Brooklyn Calloway