Top News

Newfoundland and Labrador film big winner at FIN Atlantic International Film Fest

Tara Bradbury/The Telegram<br />Filmmaker Deanne Foley accepts the Arts Award for BMO Bank of Montreal Artist of the Year during the awards gala at The Rooms Friday night.
Filmmaker Deanne Foley — File photo

A film directed by Newfoundland and Labrador filmmaker Deanne Foley has won the Gordon Parsons Award for Best Atlantic Feature at the 38th FIN Atlantic International Film Festival in Halifax.

Foley also won Best Atlantic Director for “An Audience of Chairs.”

There other honours for the film —  the Michael Weir Award for Best Atlantic Screenwriting went to Newfoundland and Labrador writer Rosemary House for “An Audience of Chairs.”

And Best Atlantic Original Score or Song went to Newfoundland and Labrador musician Duane Andrews for “An Audience of Chairs.”
“An Audience of Chairs” was produced by Jill Knox-Gosse, Eric Jordan, Paul Stephens and Lynne Wilson.
Other awards presented at the festival were:
Best Atlantic Short: “Duck Duck Goose” directed by Shelley Thompson and produced by Sylvia Bell; Best Atlantic Documentary: “Nos Hommes Dans L'Ouest (Shadow Men)” directed by Renée Blanchar and produced by Maryse Chapdelaine; Best Atlantic Short Documentary: “The Song and the Sorrow” directed by Millefiore Clarkes and produced by Rohan Fernando and Paul McNeill; Best Atlantic Animation: “Billy’s Behemoth Blast” directed by Josh Owen; Best Atlantic Cinematographer: Philippe Lavalette for “Nos Hommes Dans L'Ouest (Shadow Men)”; Best Atlantic Editor: Peter Giffen, Marie Wright  and Meaghan Wright for “The Social Shift”; Joan Orenstein Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actress: Shelley Thompson
for “Splinters”; David Renton Award for Outstanding Performance by an Actor: Taylor Olson for “Hopeless Romantic” and Telefilm Canada Script Pitch: John Davie for “The Lady Made of Light.”

Recent Stories