City of Corner Brook announces 2014 ACE Award nominees

TC Media
Published on May 2, 2014
ACE Awards
The Western Star

The nominees have been announced for the 2014 Achievement in Community Excellence Awards in Corner Brook.

The annual awards are meant to give residents an opportunity to recognize their fellow Corner Brook citizens in a wide range of areas, including business, the arts, athletics and the environment.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony scheduled for the Pepsi Centre, starting at 7 p.m. on the evening of May 14.

Business Excellence

There are four awards in the business category. The nominees for the Business Excellence Award include  A1 Safety and Resource Innovations. The Rising Star Award will go to either A1 Safety, Tuck In, Candace Cunning Photography or Veitch Physiotherapy and Wellness Centre.

Customer Service

Nominees for the Customer Service Award are Productivity Tips, Tuck In, The Orchid and Veitch Physiotherapy and Wellness Centre.


There was only one nomination for the Innovation Award, which will go to The Western Star.

Overall Artist and Emerging Artist

There are four categories in the areas of culture, heritage and the arts. The three nominations for the Overall Artist Award include Rodney Mercer, Darren White and Jennifer Matthews. Nominated for the Emerging Artist Award were Kyleigh Brisson, Emma Peckford, Meagan Musseau and Maria Mercer.

Arts Event of the Year

There were a whopping 10 suggestions for the Arts Event of the Year. That list includes, Corner Brook Wedding Expo, Tina Dolter Fundraiser, “Suor Angelica” opera, Color Your City, “Zidane: a 21st Century Portrait” panel and presentations, “Fog of the Outport” book launch, “Aberdeeen and the Old Boot” play, Three Bear Open Air concert, the Janeway Jam and Silent Auction, and the Wonderful Fine Market.

Heritage Project

Making the list for the Heritage Project Award were Bartlett's Point Park and the Mill Whistle Project.


Two people, Brigitte White and Nicholas Mercer, were named for the Community Environmental Leader Award. There were five nominations for the Corner Brook Environmental Award, including Ecole C.C. Loughlin School, Mental Wealth, the Salmon Preservation Association for the Waters of Newfoundland (SPAWN) and The Atlantic Salmon Federation (ASF), Immaculate Heart of Mary School and Environmental Affairs Committee at Grenfell Campus, Memorial University.


In athletics, Kate Tucker, Ella Tucker, Emily Chaisson and Jennifer Lombard are vying for the Gerry Basha Female Athlete of the Year Award. In the male Athlete of the Year category, the choices will be Michael Tibbo, Daniel McCarthy and Ryan Dawe.

There was one nomination for  the Active Living Community Champion (Individual) Award, which will go to Bernice Rose of the Humber Community YMCA. The three nominees for the Active Living Community Champion (Organization) Award include Cycle Solutions, the Humber Community YMCA and Scottish Heritage Society.

There are seven people nominated for Coach/Executive of the Year, including Finton Gaudette, Jeffrey Brake, Dean McCarthy, Li Lana Williams, Jason Johnson, Suzanne Carey and Susan Keating.

Lifetime achievement

For the Joe Mullins Lifetime Distinction Award, the nominations were Gordon Brewer and Frank Humber.


There are three awards in the community category. Six people have been nominated for Citizen of the Year, including Priscilla Boutcher, Ches Loughlin, Hedley Smith, George Cake, Fred Alteen and Pam Keeping. For Youth Citizen of the Year, Emily Chaisson, Kirk Quilty and Maike van Niekerk have been nominated.

Non-Profit Organization

Eight nominations were submitted for the Non-Profit Organization of the Year Award, including The Autism Society, the Community Mental Health Initiative, the Western Regional Hospital Foundation Branch 13 of the Royal Canadian Legion, the Royal Canadian Sea Cadets Corps Curling, the Humber Community YMCA and Scaredy Cat Rescue, and Bay of Islands Search and Rescue.