Matthew Tibbo wins men’s amateur golf championship

Chris Quigley
Published on July 8, 2014

Matthew Tibbo claimed the 2014 Royal Lepage Provincial Men’s Amateur Golf Championship Sunday after carding an 80 in the third round of the three-day tournament.

The Blomidon Golf and Country Club representative shot a total of 232 over the course of the weekend.

He edged out his twin brother Michael Tibbo — who shot an 83 on Sunday — by five strokes. Michael had won this tournament the past two years.

Blomidon’s Wayne Ford captured the men’s senior crown with a three-day total of 240, one stroke ahead of Ray Walsh of Grande Meadows.

Erin Lundrigan, originally from Burin and now playing out of Bally Haly in St. John’s, shot an 85 on Sunday for a three-day total of 255 to win the women’s division. Allison Crawford of Clovelly was her closest competitor with a three-day total of 269.

Eddie Bearns of Bally Haly won the men’s mid-amateur division with a 239 over three days. Matthew Hackett of Grande Meadows had a second-place score of 243. He also took the men’s mid-masters division.

Janet Mills of Bally Haly won both the ladies mid-masters and seniors titles, while Jan Peters of Bally Haly won the ladies super seniors division.

Walter Crotty of Bally Haly won the men’s super seniors.