Lounge boys capture fourth-straight title

Dave Kearsey dkearsey@thewesternstar.com
Published on November 23, 2014

CORNER BROOK  Dynasty, perhaps.

Marine Lounge continued its dominance of the local gridiron with an 8-7 win over the Winmar Raiders Saturday for a fourth-straight championship run in the Corner Brook Coors Light Touch Football League.

Quarterback Harry Patterson got things started off early with his feet as he ran in a touchdown five minutes into the game to give Marine Lounge a 6-0 lead at Wellington Street  Sports Complex.

Points were hard to come by after the initial strike on offence with players on both sides braving the snow and cold temperatures under the lights.

Both teams traded punts on several possessions leading up to the final few minutes before the half when Chris Bulger kicked a rouge to put a point on the scoreboard for the Raiders.

Shortly after the second-half kickoff,  Patterson led the champions on a drive down field which allowed Adam Anderson to kick a rouge for a 7-1 advantage.

Both teams then traded punts again on a series of possessions which chewed up most of the clock.

With 10 minutes left, quarterback Matt Roach sparked a good drive for the Raiders.

The drive was set up by a key defensive play that saw Raiders’ Chris Bulger record a sack on Patterson. The sack pinned the champs deep in their own end and ultimately allowed the Raiders to retain possession inside the half.

From here, it only took three plays for Roach to connect with Steve Cave who made a great diving catch in the endzone for a touchdown.

The conversion attempt after the touchdown failed so the game remained tied at 7-7.

The champs were able to keep possession of the football for the final nine minutes and another successful drive down the field by Patterson got Anderson close enough to kick another rouge for what proved to be the winning point.

The champs advanced to the final by virtue of a 25-0 win over the Pasadena Pirates in a semifinal match earlier in the day. The Raiders earned a spot in the final by downing the Golden Gophers — finalist for the past two years — by an 8-0 spread.