Corner Brook claims two gold at provincial U14 mega soccer tournament

Dave Kearsey
Published on August 8, 2016

Mark Hillier scored two goals — including the eventual game-winning marker on a goal where he scored into a yawning cage after winning a foot race with the opposing goalie — to lead Corner Brook to a 4-2 victory over Portugal Cove-St. Phillips Sunday morning.

Keegan Piercey and Jacob Evoy also scored for the winning side on a bright

day with a light breeze blowing around at Wellington Street Sports Complex.

Corner Brook 2 claimed gold in B division, in a showdown played at the Ambrose O’Reilly Memorial Field, with a 5-2 decision over Conception Bay South.

Logan Rafferty was the man of the hour for the city boys with a three-goal performance, while benchmate Brady Taylor scored twice in the battle for B gold.

The battle for the C division crown proved to be the most entertaining of the gold-medal games as Labrador West eked out a 3-1 win over CBN Lightning with Ayo Owolabi getting the upper hand in the goaltending duel against Ethan Brushett.

Matthew Ryan, Reggie Pike and Elisha Smith scored for Labrador West in the shootout.

Zachary Crane was the lone marksman for the Lightning in the shootout.

The D division title was claimed by Exploit’s Valley after a 3-2 victory over Happy Valley Goose Bay.

Colin O’Driscoll had a two-goal outing for the winning side, while Amie Bowles added the other marker to the scoresheet.

Keaton Barry scored both goals for the opposing side.

For scores from preliminary games, see below.

Twitter: @WS_SportsDesk

The following is a look at how things unfolded at the 2016 provincial Under-14 boys mega soccer tournament held this past weekend in Corner Brook:

Day 1 Results

HVGB 6 Deer Lake 1

HVGB: Barry Keaton 3, Eric Goudie 2, Ethan Alexander 

Deer Lake: Austin Baker

CBN Lightning 5 Exploits 0

CBNL: Ben Newhook, Zachary Crane, Aaron Boone, Jacob Norman, Brendan Kavanagh

Shutout: Ethan Brushett

PCSP 3 Corner Brook 1 2

PCSP: Daniel Hanlon 2, Dylan Lawlor

CB1: Steven Ford, Cormac Bull

Corner Brook 2 5 CBS 0

CB2: Mark Randell 3, Brady Taylor 2

Shutout: Nathan Brake


CBN: Breadon Kelloway 3, Riley Meadus 2

HVGB: Keaton Barry 2, James Pilgrim

LWU 5 Exploits 0

LWU: Matt Ryan, Cashe Corbett, Shane Delaney, Luc Yogolelo, Alexis Kabungulu


PCSP: Brandon Toope 2, Ben Parsons, Oruese Eriwo, Dylan Lawlor

CBS: Ethan Taylor, Liam Abbott

Corner Brook 1 11 Corner Brook 2 4

CB1: Mark Hillier 4, Steven Ford 3, Keegan Piercey 2, Carver Titterington

CB2: Mark Randell 2, Brady Taylor 2, Own Goal

CBN 8 Deer Lake 2

CBN: Riley Meadus 4, Breadon Kelloway 2, Ashton Harnum, Jacob Sheean

DL: Evan Lodge, Austin Brake

CBN Lightning 2 LWU 2

CBNL: Jacob Norman 2

LWU: Matt Ryan, Reggie Pike

Day 2 Results

CBN Lightning 2 CBN 1

CBN Lightning: Kaegan Delaney, Brandon Delaney

CBN: Ashton Harnum

HVGB 4 Exploits 3

HVGB: Keaton Barry 4

Exploits: Colin O'Driscoll 2, Jacob Moore

Corner Brook 1 7 CBS 0

CB1: Mark Hillier 5, Keegan Piercey 2

Shutout: Brady Hackett


Corner Brook 2 5 PCSP 5

CB2: Mark Randell 2, Adam Veitch, Brady Taylor, Morgan Durnford

PCSP: Erivwo Oruese 2, Dylan Lawlor 2, Agape Lambert

LWU 3 CBN Lightning 0

LWU: Matt Ryan, Alexis Kabungulu, Ayomide Owolabi

Exploits 4 Deer Lake 1

Exploits: Nick Greening 3, Ethan Smith 1

Deer Lake: Ryan Fitzgerald


PCSP: Dylan Lawlor 2, Evan Butler, Edmund Oates

Shutout: Jordan Tucker

Corner Brook 1 4 Corner Brook 2 2

CB1: Mark Hiller 2, Keegan Piercey, Cormac Bull

CB2: Mark Randell, Brady Taylor


LWU: Cashe Corbett, Reggie Pike

CBN: Breadon Kelloway

HVGB 4 Deer Lake 3

HVGB: Keaton Barry 3, Ethan Alexander

Deer Lake: Kyle Campbell 2, Ryan Fitzgerald

Championship Round

A Championship

Corner Brook 1 4 PCSP 2

CB1: Mark Hillier (13', 53'), Keegan Piercey (40'), Jacob Evoy (66')

PCSP: Daniel Hanlon (45'), Dylan Lawlor (75')

B Championship

Corner Brook 2 5 CBS 2

CB2: Logan Rafferty (20', 31', 70'), Brady Taylor (42', 62')

CBS: Kyle Faulkner (2', 53')

C Championship

LWU 0 CBN Lightning 0 (LWU win 3-1 on Penalty kicks)

LWU: Matt Ryan, Reggie Pike, Elisha Smith

CBN Lightning: Zachary Crane

D Championship

Exploits 3 HVGB 2

Exploits: Colin O'Driscoll (41', 49'), Amie Bowles (45')

HVGB: Keaton Barry (70', 74')